May

Here’s a poem I wrote in September ’12. I think it sums up #lushlife quite perfectly–what do you think?

May

With this El Jimador
I mean business.

Picking up the glass
Watchful of the rim
The quaking liquid
clear/sheer/invisible
I raise my hand and
like the pills I never
swallow or the
caress no man here will offer,
libations slip down
and I feel revived

Momentarily, the sharpness is
true.
Inside, outside
the bitter flavor
an echo
tips of hairs to round skin of toes
this libation speaks truth.
And when you look surprised
dumbfounded that
unlike others
I can bear the brunt
take my truth with neither
salt nor lime
My pupils retract
my face stiffens
my lips, cold,

I know business with you
contains as much possibility as
the emptiness of this
glass.

Leave a Reply

